President to present Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony

• Indian President Ram Nath Kovind would be presenting the Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony to Rajkumar Singhajit Singh, Bangladesh cultural organisation Chhayanaut and Ram Sutar Vanji for the several years 2014, 2015 and 2016 respectively on February 18, 2019 at Pravasi Bhartiya Kendra, New Delhi.

• The award was instituted by the Union Governing administration in 2012 to recognise the contributions produced by Rabindranath Tagore to humanity at massive with his works and tips, as aspect of the commemoration of his 150th Start Anniversary, for advertising values of cultural harmony.

Critical Highlights

• The award is conferred yearly and carries a sum worth Rs one crore, quotation in a scroll, a plaque and a beautiful conventional handicraft and handloom product.

• The award may well be divided between two persons or establishments who are regarded by the jury to be equally deserving of recognition in a given 12 months.

• The jury contains the Prime Minister of India, Chief Justice of India, leader of the opposition in Lok Sabha or the chief of the one greatest opposition bash in the Home and two eminent individuals.

• The Prime Minister, who is the chairman of the jury, experienced nominated Rajya Sabha MP N Gopalaswami and Indian Council for Cultural Relations President Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, as jury users for a period of time of a few years from July 16, 2018, till July 15, 2021.


• This annual award is given to individuals, associations, institutions or organizations for their outstanding contribution towards promoting values of Cultural Harmony.

• The Award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or gender. Normally, contributions made during ten years immediately preceding the nomination are considered.

• Older contributions may also be considered if their significance has become apparent only recently. A written work, in order to be eligible for consideration, should have been published during the last ten years.

• Work by a person since deceased cannot be the subject of an Award.

• If, however, his death occurred subsequent to a proposal having been submitted to the Jury in the manner stipulated in the Code of Procedure, then a Posthumous Award may be made.

• The Ministry of Culture, Government of India invites nominations from the categories of persons/organizations in accordance with the provisions of Para I of Chapter IV of the Code of Procedure.

• The First Tagore Award – 2012 was conferred upon Pt. Ravi Shankar, the Indian Sitar Maestro and the Second Award – 2013 was conferred upon Maestro Zubin Mehta.


Mains Paper 2: Governance

Prelims level: Tagore Award for Cultural Harmony

Share article