Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize Ceremony

• Winners of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for the years 2016, 2017, and 2018 were awarded in New Delhi on the occasion of National Science Day, 28th February.

• Out of total 34 winners, there was only one woman awardee Aditi Sen who got felicitated for her work in “quantum information and communication, including the formulation of a computable entanglement measure and a novel density-matrix recursion method”.

• Ganesan Venkatasubramanian was awarded for his work towards the psychiatric disorder Schizophrenia is among the wiinners.

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize

• The award is named after the Founder-Director of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR) India, the late Dr (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar and is known as the ‘Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize for Science and Technology’.

• The Prize is given each year by CSIR in the fields namely, Biological Sciences, Chemical Sciences, Earth, Atmosphere, Engineering Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Medical Sciences, and Physical Sciences.

• It is the most coveted national recognition bestowed upon young scientists and engineers to honour their research and developmental work in India.

• Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible for the prize. Overseas citizen of India (OCI) and Persons of Indian Origin (PIO) working in India are also eligible.

• The prize is awarded on the basis of contributions made through work done in India only during the five years preceding the year of the prize.

• The prize comprises a citation, a plaque, and a cash award of Rs. 5 lakh. In addition, recipients also get Rs. 15,000 per month up to the age of 65 years.


Mains Paper 2: Governance

Prelims level: Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize

Share article