UK joined International Solar Alliance

• Britain formally announced its membership of the alliance, which aims to raise $1 trillion of private and public finance to provide affordable and sustainable energy for all by 2030.

• The UK becomes the 62nd country to join ISA, which includes countries like France, Australia, Bangladesh, Tuvalu, Benin, UAE, Brazil, Vanuatu, Burkina Faso, Sierra Leone, Tanzania and Uganda.

• The new collaboration means ISA will be able to make solar power cheaper by helping countries join forces to procure solar energy systems.

=> About International Solar Alliance (ISA)

• The ISA is an Indian initiative, jointly launched by the Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi and the President of France on 30th November 2015 in Paris, on the side-lines of COP-21, the UN Climate Conference.

• The alliance’s primary objective is-

(a) Work for efficient exploitation of solar energy to reduce dependence on fossil fuels.

(b) Mobilise $1 trillion in funds for future solar generation, storage and technology across the world.

• The ISA, headquartered in India, has its Secretariat located in the Gwalpahari, Gurgaon, Haryana.

• India has offered to meet ISA Secretariat expenses for initial five years.

• ISA is an alliance of more than 121 countries, most of them being sunshine countries, which come either completely or partly between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn.

Link :

Share article