Baltic travel bubble

• The Baltic countries of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania have opened their borders to one another, creating a coronavirus “travel bubble”.

Key highlights:

• Now, citizens and residents can move freely between the three EU nations. Anybody arriving from outside the zone, however, must self-isolate for 14 days.

• This is the first “travel bubble” in Europe since nations began shutting their borders earlier this year in response to the coronavirus outbreak.

• The sparsely populated Baltic states have not been as badly affected by the pandemic as some of their European neighbors. There are fewer than 150 recorded deaths between the three nations.

• Both Finland and Poland have also been approached to join the Baltic travel bubble.

About Baltic Countries:

• The Baltic countries, or simply the Baltics, is a geopolitical term, used to group the three sovereign states in Northern Europe on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea: Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.

• The region has been part of the European Union since 2004 and since 2007 has been a member of the European Schengen Free Travel Area.


Mains Paper 2: International

Prelims level: Baltic travel bubble

Subscribe to Get Weekly updates

Get daily current affair video, detailed current affairs PPT for quick revision and Free One Liner PDF directly in your inbox. Subscribe now to get this month's one liner for FREE.