• LCA Tejas-Mk2 will be introduced in 2022, with the first flight scheduled for early 2023, according to the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA).

• The Advanced Medium Combat Aircraft (AMCA) will be introduced in 2024, with the first flight scheduled for 2025. ADA is an autonomous body of the Ministry of Defence.

Features of LCA Mk2

• The aircraft features enhanced range and endurance including an onboard oxygen generation system, which is being integrated for the first time.

• Heavy weapons of the class of Scalp, Crystal Maze and Spice-2000 will also be integrated on the Mk2.

• The LCA-Mk2 will be a heavier and much more capable aircraft than the current LCA variants.

• The Mk2 is 1,350 mm longer featuring canards and can carry a payload of 6,500 kg compared to 3,500 kg the LCA can carry.
• The Mk2 will be powered by a more powerful GE-414 engine.

About LCA- Tejas

• The Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) was founded by the Government of India to supervise the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) programme, which began in 1984.

• It was designed to replace the Mig 21 fighter jets, which were getting old. The Aeronautical Development Agency, which is part of the Department of Defence Research and Development, designed it. Hindustan Aeronautics Limited, a government-owned company, produced the plane (HAL).

• Tejas is India’s first light fighter aircraft designed and manufactured in the country. It’s a single-seat, single-engine supersonic multirole light fighter aircraft.

• Tejas is a fourth-generation light combat aircraft (LCA). Its configuration is largely geared on mobility and agility.


Mains Paper 3: Defence and Security

Prelims level: LCA-Mk2

Mains level: Features of LCA Mk2

Subscribe to Get Weekly updates

Get daily current affair video, detailed current affairs PPT for quick revision and Free One Liner PDF directly in your inbox. Subscribe now to get this month's one liner for FREE.